30 Days Writing Challenge: A Self-Reflection

Bramantya Mahendra Agus
27 min readDec 28, 2020

In the middle of this pandemic situation, we need to stay sane and stay active. It must be difficult for us to live in this situation. Since most of us were forced to live our lives inside our home.

We really can’t do our daily life normally. Let’s say you always do certain activities which require you to go outside. Vacationing, hanging out with your friends in a coffee shop, doing window-shopping in a mall, or you name it.

people enjoying a beautiful view in some mountain | 30 days writing challenge by siwhotmahendra
Photo by Elizeu Dias on Unsplash

We don’t want to just sit down in our home all day long. It’s the urge from ourselves to do what we usually do. However, this condition doesn’t allow us to do so. So So what other option do we have for that?? Pick another activity which you can do at home. It could be any activity. Picking up a new hobby, maybe? I had chosen Aquascape, and it didn’t last long lol.

But last month, I participated in a challenge — 30 Days Writing Challenge.

30 days writing challenge and self-reflection — siwhotmahendra
The topics

It’s a challenge where you are given different topics each day. It’s an interesting challenge. I wanted to do it since (not) a long time ago. Maybe at the beginning of Ramadhan. I don’t remember. But somehow I started doing it just last month just to keep me busy, productive, creative, and stay sane. You know, with this condition and with the same daily activities. I thought it would be better if I started to do something new. And I was right. Even though it’s for a month, but at least I did something new and I could improve my writing skill.

Here is my 30 Days Writing Challenge

Here is the full writing:

Day 1: Describe Your Personality

At first you meet me, you most likely will think I’m annoying. But I promise you, when you already know me, I am more annoying than you think.

Anyway, I would say I’m not that kind of friendly person at the first time we meet

It’s hard for me to approach someone new first, especially if we literally just know each other at that time. I would be the most silence person you’ve ever known. But as days go by, I can be your the most annoying friend (in terms of positive context. Ha!)

Some says I’m a great listener, some say I’m a person who loses a battle against his ego. Well, yeah… It could be both.

One thing that I’m proud about my personality is; I love helping. If you need help and I can help you at that time, trust me, I will help you like it’s me who needs help.

Day 2: Things that Makes You Happy

I have no idea what to write, because too many things that can make me happy.

But,

You buy me surya eceran, I will be happy.

Out of nowhere you ask me to hang out and enjoying good day freeze? I will be happy.

The important things are, as long as I still have some people around me who are willing to spend their time with me talking shit, sharing laugh, sharing some new information so we can reduce our burden, I will be happy all day long.

Oh, and one thing. Music! Not just listening to them, but also playing the instrument! Having a gig or even just having a rehearsal. Then happiness is all around me.

Day 3: Memory

What kind of memory? The bright one or the dark one?

Well, let’s just jump to the bright one — the brightest one for me.

It was highschool-me. A stupid young boy (he still is) who wasn’t really sure that he could go to a well-known university, or simply a state university. Long story short, I went to the test. After a month waiting, boom, my mom and I saw my name on the screen. I turned into a lil baby. Cried and hugged my precious one.

Skip to the final year. It was really the best memory and I could say it was one of the best moment in my life.

I was the first men in my batch to graduate — thanks to pak Rozin!

Sorry for being a humble-bragger tho.

Day 4: Places I Want to Visit

There are 2 places that I want to visit.

1. UK — or Britain or Great Britain idk tho.

Sipping a cup of a tea at cafe somewhere there, while listening to “good day innit?”

And doing all of them while being a Master of TESL or Master of TEFL student! That would be amazing.

If I can’t go there as a master student, at least I can go there as a tourist. I am just waiting, until my body and my mind say “We are hungry, we are craving for a new adventure”

2. Hendra

Yes! Hendra! It is a suburb in the City of Brisbane, Australia.

I just have to take a flight to Brisbane, walk for 10 minutes, and boom, Hendra in Hendra. It’s more like Emily in Paris, except idk who Emily is, and my destination is Hendra.

Well, for now let’s have a dream first, shall we?

Day 5: Your Parents

What can I say about them? They are my everything. They are the sunshine of my life

My father is an enterpreneur. He does the printing things, such as books, receipt, banner, calendar, sablon, etc. Maybe if you need one of his services, call me!

He is a friendly person. He literally can befriend everyone. Even if he has just known you. And he is the one who influence me into politics and religion matters.

My mom is a junior high school English teacher. No wonder why I chose English Literature. According to my friends, she can be understood by her students easily.

If you’ve just known her, she will be like “Oh iya, hati hati ya” But if you’ve known her for a long time and she knows you too, then she will be like “Nangndi ae kok gak tau muncul”

Both of them are cool people. One thing that always makes me calm: they’ve never asked when I will get married!

Day 6: Single and Happy

It depends on how you live your life. If you are a person who doesn’t rely too much on “someone special”, then you can have that “Single and Happy”. If not, then it will be difficult for you.

Sometimes, the things that can make you forget that you are single is that you are busy enjoying your own life. Go pick up new books (bit.ly/IniShopee), watch a new serial or movie on Netflix, listen to a new song on Spotify, continue your hobby or pick up a new hobby, and go meet your friends — don’t forget that they are your “someone special” too. The point is: just do whatever you love. Do whatever that can make you happy. It’s the best way to achieve “Single and Happy

Being able to feel happy while still single means that ourself is enough for us. It shows that we love ourself first before we let others do the same thing to us. But single and happy doesn’t necessarily mean that we don’t need anyone else. It’s our human nature to have our other half. It means we’re waiting for the best to reward ourself.

If you can’t be happy being single, then how can you be happy being in a relationship? Love yourself first, then you can love your SO.

You can be single and happy. You can be single and unhappy. You can be in a relationship and happy. You can be in a relationship and unhappy. It’s your choice

Day 7: Favorite Movie

Kinda hard for me. I’m not that movie-person. But still, I’ll write about my favorite movie. The chosen one — Harry Potter.

Not just Harry Potter actually, but also Fantastic Beast.

The first time I watched this movie was kinda funny. I was at the 3rd grade. It was almost midnight. Bioskop Trans TV — you remember? The first time I watched this franchise was right at the moment the Dementor entered the train, looking for Sirius Black. Yes, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I was scared. I ran to my mom and here’s the conversation:

“Mom, can you watch a movie with me?”

“What movie?”

“Harry Potter”

“Oh. You go first, I’ll be there in a moment”

And many years later I had just found out that my mom often used Harry Potter as her teaching media….

Anyway, Harry Potter, it’s kinda cool living in a magic world. Where everything can be done easily. You need a cup of coffee? You can just swing your wand and you get your coffee. The magic world would be the happiest place if it’s not because of the baldy Voldy and his servants.

I love every Harry Potter movie. Except Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. F**k Umbridge, that’s why.

Unfortunately tho, J. K. Rowling once said that she has no intention to make a story about the Marauders.

There are too many things that are missed in the movies. You can be confused if you only watch the movie. You will have so many questions. But I think, if you read the books first, I’m sure you will be furious when you watch the movies. It’s because there are many things that weren’t included in the movies!

Do I read the books? Nope

Do I know the whole universe? I am confident that I know almost everything

How? Thanks to Harry Potter Wikia

Lastly, I am kinda lil bit proud after I found out that I have the same birthday as Neville Longbottom.

And I have written an article about Harry Potter and one of my favourite songs. You can check it here:

Day 8: The Power of Music

There are so many reasons on why music is powerful.

One of the interesting power is: music can wake your emotion. Listen to a certain song. What kind of emotion will you get? Everything. Happiness, spirit, new hope for your future, and… sadness. Music can cheer you up. But somehow, music can turn you down. Need some energy? Listen to some upbeat music. Do you want your sad hour become more sad? Listen to some mellow music. You can’t sleep? Listen to The Dance of Eternity. Wondering how to count 19/16 surely will help you fall asleep quickly.

Scientifically speaking, music can lift up your moods, fight depression, and is a stress reliever. Just make sure you choose the right music!

Moreover, music can be your vehicle for your trip down the memory lane. I am sure by listen to some music, you will have a nostalgic feeling. Good or bad memories, it depends on the music that you listen to.

And music can set your whole day mood. When you are on your way to work, what kind of music do you listen to? Happy by Ardhito Pramono or Happy! by Mocca? What you listen on the beginning of your day could influence your mood.

Day 9: Write About Happiness

Happiness is when you feel genuinely happy without worrying about everything.

Happiness can hide your negative emotion. Even more, it can heal you.

When you are at that state of emotion, you will forget that you have some problems. You will remember nothing. You will think of nothing.

The only thing that comes across your mind is “I love my life

It can be called happiness when you still feel happy even after your happiness moment has passed. It is a happiness when you are ecstatic when you tell other people about that moment. You don’t want that moment to end. You want to repeat that moment again.

Happiness is you. You define your own happiness. You find your own happiness, or you can create your own happiness.

Day 10: Your Best Friend

M. Abdul Wahid, Dhimas Ari S., Niko Alvian Akbar.

My best since junior high school. Separated because of senior high school. Got back together again in college. All of us went to university in Malang, luckily.

my best friend — 30 days writing challenge by siwhotmahendra
L-R clockwise: Me, Wahid, Diko, Dhimas, Niko
my best friend — 30 days writing challenge by siwhotmahendra
Dhimas, Wahid, me, Niko

Our first adventure was in 2012. We went to Jogja to “celebrate” new year. Even tho the plans didn’t go well, but it’s still memorable.

my best friend — 30 days writing challenge by siwhotmahendra
Local tourist

As I wrote yesterday, It can be called happiness when you still feel happy even after your happiness moment has passed. Yep, they are one of my happiness. And our adventure was also my happiness. I don’t care if the plan didn’t go well. As long as I am with them. My elation will be at the top of the hills

The most memorable moments are when we were together. We were housemate. Not a good housemate tho. One month, two months, every morning Wahid and Dhimas would cook for us. There were 5 of us (+Wahid’s friend), but they cooked breakfast like there were 50 people. When they made a sambal, those two always argued whose technique to make sambal was the best. Niko and I would stand there watching them arguing. That’s just because we don’t like spicy foods.

Until days have passed. Our house was only for changing clothes. Long story short, our last moments being housemate was at the end of our 2nd semester. We always slept together at Dhimas’ room. Every single day. Until we had to moved out and then ngekos.

Our latest adventure was on January 2018. We went camping on a beach. Just four of us. It was only 2 days. A very short moment, but it was a lovely moment

my best friend — 30 days writing challenge by siwhotmahendra
Beach boys

And here we are. Not a bunch of kids anymore. I want to always be together with them. But we are grown-up adults, we have our own life. I am here in Sidoarjo — Surabaya, Niko in Bandung, Dhimas in Gresik, and Wahid now is Wahid KDI, his life will be always on the road.

me and my best friend on a video call— 30 days writing challenge by siwhotmahendra

And one thing. If I ask my mom for permission to go out with some friends, she will ask anything. But if I go out with them or one of them, my mom will be “just go on.” There was one moment where Wahid asked me to accompany him to a singing competition, and it’s my mom who forced me to go.

Rezeki tidak hanya berupa harta benda. Sahabat yang baik juga salah satu bentuk rezeki — Unknown

Day 11: Talk About Your Sibling

The only sibling I have is my brother. He is a nice man. Except when he is talking about life, then he could be the meanest person. He always tries to be a good brother. Life advise every time.

If you want to know his personalities, just look at me. We almost have the same personalities. Except he is wiser and smarter

One day I jokingly asked him for paying my master degree tuition.

“Don’t you want to pay my master degree tuition? It’s only 400 million per semester”

“Then what will you do after you graduate? Do you think you will get a job easily if you have master degree?”

And here it came his 1-hour life advice.

I always remember when he used to pick me up from kindergarten using his bike. Even tho not every day, but he often picked me up. We used to wrestling in his room. We wouldn’t stop until mom yelled “Terusno!”

Weren’t we cute?

When you ask him for a help, it seems like he doesn’t care. But, in fact, he would sit down with you and help you solving your problems. Especially when it comes to work related matters.

He often gives me some pocket money and buys me things. Sometimes, I’m thinking of returning the favor to him. But, hey, give him pocket money? Man, he’s richer than me! Buy him things? Sure. But still, he is way richer than me. And I choose none of them. What I do is buy his sons snacks, clothes, toys, or some other things.

But somehow I buy them because my brother tells his older son to ask me.

“Abi, I want pizza”

“Go ask your uncle”

And then he comes to me

“Uncle, I want pizza. Can you please buy one for me?”

“………yes”

God, I love those kids so much.

Day 12: Favourite TV Series

I am not a movie/series lover. So I’ll write about a TV Series that I have watched.

Preman Pensiun

Mainstream storyline? No

A-rating actors and actresses? Nope

Some characters died and somehow reborn into a different person? Nah

Is their setting located in Jakarta? Bandung ftw

Do they always get their head bandaged after an accident? Totally no

Their famous actors and actresses are only Didi Petet, Epy Kusnandar, Soraya Rasyid, and Tya Arifin. The others are just newcomers in the acting universe. But their acting skill is awesome.

For me, I would say that this series genre is a mixed genre between Drama, Action, and Comedy — no romance at all, as what other Indonesian TV series do. You will find lessons about life, family, friends, and loyalty. Their conflict is mostly about power. They don’t fight for something unnecessary. They fight for their “job”.

Their friendship is amazing. They see their colleagues as their own family. Even they see their maid, driver, their friend’s family as their own family. When their family faces something terrible, they will give them a hand.

And one interesting point from this masterpiece is: the storyline. It’s out of the box. My fav is when Kang Komar was provoked and Kang Mus knew it, Kang Mus asked Kang Komar to meet him and he explained everything, he told Kang Komar to not believe in everything that has been told to him.

You don’t find that often in other Indonesian TV series. What would happen in other Indonesian TV series when a character was provoked? An unnecessary war.

Day 13: Favourite Book

I don’t have any…..

I have told you in my previous writing that I am not a movie and/or serial lover. And now I should say that I am not a book lover either.

Nevertheless, I’ll write a lil bit about a book that I have read; Edensor. A story about two tough men from a small village in Belitong who pursued their master degree in Sorbonne Université, France.

The story starts with Andrea telling a little piece of his childhood. He told us about his adventure with Weh, about the history of his name, about how he and Arai moved to Bogor, studied in Universitas Indonesia, got their Degree, got a shitty job, and not long after that Arai had gone. But somehow they reunited in a scholarship interview. After that, the story about their adventure began.

Edensor is not only about two men pursuing their master degree; it’s all about dream and adventure. It’s their dream to study in France. And it’s also their dream to travel around Europe and Africa. He told us about the power of dream. With dream, you can achieve anything. As long as you believe in your own dream.

Bermimpilah. Maka Tuhan akan memeluk mimpi — mimpi itu.

Day 14: Describe Your Style

It’s I-don’t-really-fucking-care-with-style style.

I don’t know if dark clothes can be called as a style. Because that’s what I would choose everyday.

Just give me black t-shirt, black pants, and black hoodie. I would wear them everyday and everywhere. That’s the most simple style yet that suits me best.

If I wear black, I will be confident all day long. It doesn’t have to be black actually. As long as I feel comfortable wearing that.

Always wear what you want to wear. If you do that, you will be confident. If you are confident, then your day will be brighter than before. And please, don’t wear something just because it’s worn by everybody (unless you are really comfortable with that!)

Day 15: If you could run away, where would you go?

Malang, of course.

It’s where I grew my social skills. Where I made new relations. It’s where I could be myself. There lies my past. There lies my memories.

I just love that city. I fell in love with Malang since the first time I went there looking for kontrakan for my college life. The weather is nice, the public transportation is nice, everything is just nice. It’s a city where you have many options to escape from your reality.

Do you want to go to the beach? Sure. Drive for 2–3 hours to the south, and now you can enjoy the lovely view of the south sea.

You need something with the cool atmosphere to cool down your mind? Drive for +-1 hour, and you will reach Batu. Alun — alun batu, payung, songgoriti, selecta, paralayang, coban rondo and many more places are waiting for you.

Or you just want to have a cup of coffee with your friends? Sure. Coffee shops are everywhere

Just make sure you are in Kota Malang tho!

Day 16: Someone I Miss

Can I change the topic into “People I Miss”?

Wahid, Dhimas, Niko. I miss them.

I don’t miss Wahid, I don’t mas Dhimas, I don’t miss Niko. I just miss them. All of them. Being together with me. All of those bastards. If I just miss each person, I can meet all of them personally and kill that feeling. But, I miss all of them.

The last time we met was in 2019. After that, it was either me and Wahid, me and Dhimas, me, Wahid, and Dhimas, or me, Dhimas, and Niko. It’s been a while since I sat together with all of them, enjoying our beverages and talking about anything

I mean, there is no day passed that I don’t miss them.

Day 17: Ways to Win My Heart

Give me 1 billion, maybe?

Or maybe buy me Fender Jazz Bass and/or Bongo Music Man John Myung Signature?

Nah. In terms of friendship, just be my friends. Just be here until the end. Be someone who is the real you. Ask me to hang out regularly and I will do the same. Share your happiness, share your sadness, share your problems, share everything what’s on your mind, tell me if you need anything. It’s calming me knowing the fact that you trust me.

In terms of relationship, it’s almost the same, but there are some additional ways. Always be there for me, not the kind that pushes me, but the kind that makes me realize that “Hey, I’ve got her”. I am a selfish bastard, so I think it’s better to not fight me when I’m showing my selfish side, but slowly making me realize that there are better ways than being selfish (but if she can just directly tell me that I’m being selfish, it’s way better!) Last but not least, she needs to be a good listener and also a talkative person who wants to spend the night just listening to each other’s life stories.

Day 18: 30 Facts About Myself

1. I am a male

2. I was born at 30 July 1996 in Sidoarjo

3. I live in Sidoarjo

4. I have 3 nicknames. Hendra, Siwhot, and Bram

5. There is my father’s name in my full name. And I will be annoyed if people don’t write it when they write my full name

6. Spicy food hater

7. Fried rice and tahu tek are the best food for me

8. I love music and I play musical instruments

9. Could have 2 different jobs in a day: Employee and Teacher

10. I can remember everything clearly. Something like, I remember that the first time I met you was at Tuesday, 24 September 2019, around 8pm in a coffee shop called X

11. But if I really forget about something, then I will completely forget about that.

12. I don’t like following what’s happening. In terms of fashion, style, music, etc

13. Not a movie and serial lover

14. Not a book lover

15. I love teaching — especially teaching English (but my English skill sucks!)

16. I love helping people

17. A selfish person

18. Good day freeze most loyal fan

19. Easily distracted. I could be doing something, and then if I suddenly remember that I have another thing waiting to be done, I would leave the first and do the latter

20. Not a foodie person. I don’t care what I eat. I’m not picky. I’ll just eat what I wanna eat. I am not that kind person who has to eat something from a certain restaurant (well, as long as it’s not spicy)

21. Sheila on 7 and Dream Theater ftw!

22. I don’t have any preference musical genre. I’ll listen all of them. As long as I find the chemistry between me and that song

23. I don’t really like “nyambat.” Like, what’s the point of it? For me it’s just a waste of energy. I don’t want to share a bad energy and bad vibe. I think that my problems will not suddenly disappear if I share them with everyone. So I’ll just keep my problems and face it

24. Always trying to share a positive vibe by cracking some shitty jokes

25. I have a scar in my knee

26. Believe it or not, I was told by many people that I look like Duta So7

27. Stay still at home all day long or hanging out with friends all day long? It has to be balance. I don’t like doing nothing at home all day long, I don’t like hanging out with all day long

28. Buying cat food regularly, but I’m not a cat owner

29. Dark is my colour

30. An eccedentesiast

Day 19: My First Love

I think it should be that girl. A girl from elementary school. That’s the first time I fell in love. But, you know, I was still a young boy. I didn’t really think about it. It’s just, okay I liked her and she liked me. And all of our friends knew that.

But we weren’t dating. We had no cellphone back then. And how could I take her out when I only had a bicycle? Plus, hey, I was a young boy. My mom only gave me Rp2000 for a day

It was a loooooong time ago. I was just a young boy. So was it really first love? Was it love for that matter?

Day 20: My Celebrity Crush

Well, if Narcissa Malfoy is considered as a celebrity.

She is just, gorgeous. Her charisma really makes my eyes wide opened. A typical mom who cares about herself in her young age.

She is not that antagonist, but she is not that protagonist. She is an antagonist because she is part of Black and Malfoy family — Death Eater. She is a protagonist because she is not that evil. She just wants the best for her only son.

When Harry died, she didn’t tell Voldy. Instead, she only asked Harry whether her son was still alive or not. But I think that’s because she wanted to return the favour. I don’t know the detail tho. Correct me if I’m wrong!

Day 21: Write About Love

What is love? Oh baby, don’t hurt me. Don’t hurt me. No more.

Being in love, with someone special or with a thing, is dangerous. It’s a strong feeling, yet it’s dreadful.

You don’t care about its flaws. Even you are blinded. To the point that it’s not that you don’t care about its flaws, but you don’t see the flaws.

When you have it, you are on the top of the hills. You want to stay there forever. You don’t wanna leave. You keep it. You hold it. You take care of it. You love it. You pour yourself onto it. Hoping that you will never be separated.

But once you have to leave it, you are stabbed. You fall to pieces. It takes time to set yourself back. Surely you will lose a piece. Just keep trying, until you have found the new one and fill a lacuna in your life.

Day 22: Write About Today (16th December 2020)

I don’t know how to explain it.

It’s kinda the same as usual. Woke up in the morning, went to work, trapped inside the traffic jam, did the 8–5 routine, went home, trapped inside the traffic jam again, and then I lied down on my bed.

Except there was something that fucked up my mind. And I just don’t want to talk about it.

Day 23: A Letter to Someone

Dear, the past-me.

I hope you are well.

I just wanna say thank you for everything. Thank you for what you have done, for what you’ve been through, for hanging there until the end. Thank you for still being strong even after you’ve been hurt, for always trying to keep smiling and laughing, for always strengthen yourself no matter how tired you were.

Thank you for always keep trying and never lose your hope.

And now it’s my turn. Seeing how strong you were, I promise that I will be stronger than you were. I promise you that I will be better. I promise that I will never lose those hopes that you always have in mind. I promise I will always try to reach your dream. I promise to be a man that the future you can be proud of.

Best regard,

The present-me

Day 24: Write About a Lesson You’ve Learned

Hope for the best. Expect for the worst.

Always set your goals, your dreams, and your hopes. Keep in mind that you are gonna reach all of those. Be sure that you are gonna have them.

But keep your expectations low. In case there is something bad happen, you won’t fall and get hurt.

Sometimes it’s okay to have a negative thought. But that’s not the point. It’s like, a safety precaution.

Picture this, you are going somewhere using your motorcycle. You more likely would be thinking that you will arrive safely. But of course you would wear a helmet for the sake of your own safety — unless you wear a helmet to avoid any ticket from the police.

Or like this; you are riding with your friend. It’s only your friend who knows when will you two arrive and you don’t. Then you ask your friend

“How long until we arrive?”

“In about one hour”

But it turns out that it only takes 30 minutes. What is your reaction?

It’s more like if you can’t achieve it then you would be “Okay then.” And when you can achieve it, you will be very happy and satisfied.

Day 25: Something Inspired by 11th Image on My Phone

A tall building which stands still in one cloudy morning in Surabaya — 30 days writing challenge
A cloudy morning in Surabaya

Black Clouds and Silver Linings

The day may start with a cloudy morning. It might seem that the sky still hasn’t stopped pouring rain since last night. It doesn’t mean that the sky will never stop pouring rain. It could be an hour or two hour later, in the afternoon, or in the evening. But still, the rain will stop. Wipe out the black clouds and let the silver linings come out.

You may be struggling while live your life. You may have some problems. Your life may be hard, but it’s life. It’s just up and down up and down. But life goes on. Don’t ever give up. Keep fighting. Life may be hard, but you are stronger than you think. You can face it, you can overcome it, and you can win.

And please remember, at the end of the day, everything will be better and brighter.

Day 26: My School

SDN Magersari

Just a standard elementary school. Nothing interesting. It’s a small school in a small village. Located right in front of Kantor Kelurahan Magersari and near the legendary Bakso Cak Pitung, which hadn’t existed yet when I studied there. Maybe the only interesting thing was there was a house near my school whose owner had a crocodile (or alligator, idk). It’s cool. My friends and I often went there just to look at the beast.

SMPN 1 Candi

It’s where I started to grow bigger. It’s where I started to learn about life. And it’s where I started playing bass religiously. It’s one of favourite schools in Sidoarjo. Located in a strategic place — public transportation-wise. It’s also near Sidoarjo hospital and Universitas Muhammadiyah Sidoarjo. I had many options for snacks. I could go to the canteen or some food stalls outside the school. The most messed up spot in this school was the girl restroom. It’s like, what the heck?

But fortunately everything has changed now. Everything is nicer. The musholla is bigger and nicer. Plus there is a small stage in the school court.

SMKN 2 Buduran

If Surabaya has Sekolah Komplek which consists of SMAN 1, SMAN 2, SMAN 5, and SMAN 9 Surabaya, well, Sidoarjo has it too. SMAN 1 Sidoarjo, SMKN 1 Buduran, SMKN 3 Buduran, SMKN 2 Buduran, and MAN Sidoarjo. It’s a big school. No wonder since it’s a vocational high school. There are some laboratories for each major. Software Engineering, Multimedia, Accounting, Office Administration, Banking, and Marketing. I fell in love with this school because of one spot: band studio! I befriended an art teacher so I could hang out there often and played the instruments.

One day, there was a robbery. It was such a big scandal. Especially when the robbers held the night guards as their hostages. The one thing that still bothers me is when they said they could escape because one of them took a knife out from a drawer. And I was like “how they knew there was a knife there?”

Universitas Brawijaya

Just Google it and read the full information on Wikipedia

Day 27: Someone Who Inspires Me

They are my mom and my brother.

My mom. A human who doesn’t know what tired is. It seems like she’s never been stressed and tired. You know, it’s a natural behaviour of a mother. When I was in 6th grade, my mom was really tough. Morning to afternoon she’s an English teacher in a junior high school. Afternoon to evening she’s a master student. After that, she’s an English private teacher. And still had time to take care of me.

I never share my problems to her. It’s not like I don’t believe her. It’s more like; I don’t have the heart to tell that I’ve just fell down from the stairs once to someone who has fell down from the stairs sooooo many times.

My brother. Always keep trying, keep learning, and be creative. Always do something new and unique. And never expect a different result if you still do the same.

And apart from that, he is a good father. He knows when to say yes and when to say no. He can handle his children. And now look at them, their behaviour is nice.

Day 28: Write About Loving Someone

What did I say about love? If love is dangerous, so is loving someone.

It’s kinda a mixed feeling. Happy, joy, ecstatic, fear, and sorrow. You are ready to be happy and to be loved. But in the same time you are not ready to be down and left alone.

Loving someone is when you truly care about them. You always try to make them happy and always smiling. You will do anything. As long as you see them smiling. You don’t care about yourself. You try to be the best version of yourself and be the best partner from their perspective. If it means that you have to change yourself, you will do it. At least you try to achieve that.

When you love them, you know everything about them. And they know everything about you. You have nothing to hide. You tell them about everything. You tell them about who you really are. You reveal yourself — the brightest part of yourself and the darkest part of yourself.

You don’t just understand about their flaws. But you choose to not see them. You simply don’t care and only see their bright side.

I have written this in my previous writing. But, here it is. When you are with them, you are on the top of the hills. You want to stay there forever. You don’t wanna leave. Hoping that you will never be separated.

But once you have to leave them, you are stabbed. You fall to pieces. It takes time to set yourself back. Until you have found the new one and fill a lacuna in your life.

Day 29: My Goals for the Future

Make myself happy and make my mom happy.

I am happy now, so is my mom. But I just want us to be happier than this.

For the future, I want to be safe and secure in financial. Not only financially stable, but financially safe. Where I don’t have to worry about my income. How? I want to have my own business. That’s it.

Money doesn’t buy happiness. No, it doesn’t. But crying in Toyota Supra is better than crying in Honda Supra.

Day 30: What Do I Feel When I Write

I feel confused. I always have the desire to write, but I have no idea what I should write.

But overall I feel satisfied. I can pour all of my thoughts and ideas using sentences. It’s something that I can’t normally do. Plus I had something new to do and I can reduce the frequency of myself wasting time. By writing something like this, I feel like I’ve just created some arts. Even tho they are not some high-quality works.

For now, it’s only for myself — to satisfy myself. Well, yes. I always try to write something interesting. Something that people will enjoy reading it and genuinely love it. But that’s not the point. I do whatever I want. So I write whatever I want, without thinking too much whether people will like it or not.

By participating in this challenge, for me it’s confusing, relieving, and also satisfying. Imagine you have a conversation with someone. That’s the feel you get when you join this challenge. Let’s say it’s a moment where you are being cared of. You have many thoughts, ideas, and stories. At first, you didn’t know how to let them out. And now you are asked about some topics and of course, you try your best to answer that. Maybe you couldn’t answer it clearly, but you still answer it.

Think about it, sometimes you think you know yourself well. But sometimes you don’t. Sometimes it’s easy to tell people about who you really are. But sometimes you don’t even know yourself.

In my opinion, this 30 Days Writing Challenge is not only about you writing on certain topics, but it’s one way of finding yourself. It’s self-reflection. To know who you really are, to understand yourself better, to know what do you want in your life, and to know how do you see the world. While it’s not only you are asked something about yourself, you are also asked about how do you see the world.

Writing clarifies your thinking. Thoughts and feelings are nebulous happenings in our mind holes, but writing forces us to crystalize those thoughts and put them in a logical order. Leo Babauta

Day 1 is about your personality and day 18 is 30 facts about yourself. Those are topics about yourself. Topics that are related to you personally. You have to dig up yourself. You are forced to identify your own self.

Day 6 is Single and Happy and day 21 is Love. Those are general topics, not personal topics. It is intended to make you express how you see the world around you. It is about what you feel about how you live your life.

Maybe you can’t express yourself just by sharing it conversely. Then you participate in this challenge, you pour yourself onto it. You convey your feelings and emotions by answering those questions. It’s like you have a conversation with yourself, but the words are documented!

For me, the 30 Days Writing Challenge is more like; 30 Days to Find Who You Really Are.

--

--

Bramantya Mahendra Agus

I've always had a strong desire to write, but I don’t know what should I write | Check out my podcast & my bass cover video: https://linkfly.to/siwhotmahendra